Dogs, Disobedience, Devotion

Luther on dogs.

This is a wonderful piece of work.

There are days that my dog gets me out of bed; days when she calms me down in the midst of my ranting, when we’re out on our walk together. Sometimes she reminds me so much of myself – she loses track of her surroundings and goes off chasing smells and sounds – while I’m pleading with her to return to the safety of her walk with me.

Then I remember how much like her I am. I follow paths and smells and get distracted, when I should be walking beside my Master and savior, hanging onto His words and directions. So often her actions bring me to repentance, and that is so wondrous – that the Lord can use the common things in this life to remind us of His love and care.

This morning, I was reading Isaiah and I was reminded again of His love and comfort to me, regardless of my wandering.

You will say in that day:
“I will give thanks to You, O Lord,
    for though You were angry with me,
Your anger turned away,
    that You might comfort me.

 “Behold, God is my salvation;
    I will trust, and will not be afraid;
for the Lord God is my strength and my song,
    and He has become my salvation.”

About C.M. Cole

Christian wife & mother. Striving to continually learn and share with others.
This entry was posted in Bible Info & Discussions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

